Families ….

7th April 2005

Sent my cousin Simon a message through Genes Reunited this message so it will be interesting to see if he responds as I haven’t spoken to him in years. Hoping he will take the bait about me asking him if he would like an invite to our site on MyFamily.com. It would be good as I have had problems finding out info on that side of the family and I can’t exactly ask for help from my mum. It does hurt at times that she never responds to my letters and leaves it to my dad – he doesn’t bother responding very often either. I don’t even know how they feel about me having tests to find out why I haven’t conceived. The way I am feeling at the moment is that if a miracle happens and I do get pregnant I’m wondering if it is really worth me telling them. I know, if it does happen, I will let them know but I’m not expecting a response back so that will be their loss.

Received a lovely message from Margaret, Rick’s cousin who lives in the States. She regularly looks on our site and has contributed as well to it so we are pleased she has an interest in it though Rick’s cousin Barry has been contributing too. Margaret had asked who Anthony was so Rick asked me to respond to that one as he felt it would sound better from me. I let Margaret know yesterday morning so she responded quickly – I got the impression she felt a bit guilty as she thought Anthony may have been a cousin of Rick’s. Her response was perfect though and she has been accepting as well. I sometimes wonder about my family – Simon responded back through Genes Reunited but has let me know what his dad’s email address is. Sent my uncle an email anyway to let him know how I am and to pick his brains. I have sent him an invite to our site as well so hopefully he will have a look at that as well.

My contact with my cousin has been sporadic over the past year usually because he forgets to respond to my emails then has a dig at me months later. That’s just about what I expect from my relatives and I’m not sure which side is worse. Still it doesn’t bother me as I know I’m thought about and they do support me in their own strange way. My aunts, uncles and cousins have always seemed to have thought more of me than my own parents and sister.

About Philippa

I am married to Rick and we live in a small town in County Durham. We have two dogs, a cat and two budgies. I am also an adoption survivor. In 1981 my son was born and I was then forced to surrender him. It took 23 years and reunion for my to find out that my son's adoption was legally known as a forced adoption and illegal but social workers got away with it because mothers didn't know their rights.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

