Being Supportive

9th July 2005

Late last night Tina emailed me so I didn’t read it till this morning. We have been emailing each other for a few days as she isn’t getting much support from the After Adoption forum. So many adoptees have been really negative towards her wanting reunion with her mum just because they’ve had bad reunions. Elaine is the only one who has been supportive and positive. I’m the only mother who relinquished who has responded to her therefore the only one being positive/supportive. Tina has been going through so many emotions as she hasn’t known what to expect. That’s something I didn’t go through as I wasn’t actively searching for Anthony but I do know what it’s like afterwards going through so many emotions. Anyway Tina had written a letter to her uncle recently and last night her mum rang her up and the call went well. She then talked to her uncle’s wife who had looked after her till she was two. After the conversations her 2 siblings and 7 cousins sent her texts messages. I am wondering how long it will take Tina to come down from the clouds and can hardly wait till she emails again …. I have responded to her email. I am so happy for her as she was getting herself into a dreadful state and was feeling stupid. Remembering how I felt in the early days of reunion I have done my best to reassure her she isn’t being stupid and her feelings are normal.

About Philippa

I am married to Rick and we live in a small town in County Durham. We have two dogs, a cat and two budgies. I am also an adoption survivor. In 1981 my son was born and I was then forced to surrender him. It took 23 years and reunion for my to find out that my son's adoption was legally known as a forced adoption and illegal but social workers got away with it because mothers didn't know their rights.
This entry was posted in Adoption and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

