First Mother

First Mother

I am a mother yet I am not acknowledged,
No more children for me yet I have one,
To the world I am married yet childless,
My son loves me yet I have none.

My heart aches for what I have lost,
Yet my heart is happy for what I have gained,
I may not have a child in my life,
Yet who knows I may gain grandchildren.

My son is so special to me,
He has yet to trust another,
His love is yet to grow for him towards me,
All I want to be is a second mother.

We have much in common through our genes,
I want to hug him so many times,
We are as one family he knows what it means,
What more could I want life is so fine.

Philippa Hope-Hornsey

About Philippa

I am married to Rick and we live in a small town in County Durham. We have two dogs, a cat and two budgies. I am also an adoption survivor. In 1981 my son was born and I was then forced to surrender him. It took 23 years and reunion for my to find out that my son's adoption was legally known as a forced adoption and illegal but social workers got away with it because mothers didn't know their rights.
This entry was posted in Adoption and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to First Mother

  1. abraham says:

    Hi there! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading through your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the great work!

  2. Very good post. I am dealing with a few of these
    issues as well..

  3. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I don’t know who you are but certainly you are going to a
    famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

  4. First off I would like to say wonderful blog!
    I had a quick question that I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear your mind prior to writing. I’ve had
    a tough time clearing my mind in getting my ideas
    out there. I truly do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to
    15 minutes are generally wasted just trying to figure out
    how to begin. Any ideas or hints? Kudos!

  5. Philippa says:

    It does come with practise although I have days when I struggle to get started. Other days it’s much easier as I will either read something that makes me think of my feelings or I will hear something on the television. This poem was an easier one for me to write due to the attitudes towards mothers who have surrendered a child not being real mothers.

  6. It’s really a great and helpful piece of information. I’m
    glad that you simply shared this helpful info with us.
    Please keep us informed like this. Thank you for sharing.

  7. Sheryl says:

    Actually when someone doesn’t understand after that its up to other people that they will assist, so here it occurs.

  8. Darwin says:

    Howdy would you mind letting me know which web host you’re utilizing? I’ve loaded your blog in
    3 completely different browsers and I must say this
    blog loads a lot faster then most. Can you recommend a good web hosting provider at a honest price?
    Kudos, I appreciate it!

  9. Jenni says:

    May I just say what a comfort to discover somebody
    who genuinely knows what they are talking about over the
    internet. You actually understand how to bring a problem to light and make it important.
    More people should look at this and understand this side of the story.
    I was surprised that you aren’t more popular given that you most certainly possess the gift.

  10. Philippa says:

    Darwin ~ you can contact my husband on this link http://www.h-h-h.info/contact.html he has yet to get info on the home page yet but his prices are reasonable.

    Jenni ~ thank you

  11. I like reading through an article that can make people think.
    Also, many thanks for allowing me to comment!

  12. hanna harper says:

    It’s wonderful that you are getting thoughts from this post as well as from our discussion made at this place.

  13. carmella says:

    Hey, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog in Chrome, it looks fine but when opening in
    Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you
    a quick heads up! Other then that, wonderful blog!

  14. Owen says:

    Hey there, I think your website might be having browser compatibility issues.
    When I look at your blog in Ie, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it
    has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up!

    Other then that, fantastic blog!

  15. Hello there! Quick question that’s entirely off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My blog looks weird when viewing from my iphone4. I’m trying to find a template or
    plugin that might be able to correct this problem. If you have any suggestions, please share.
    Appreciate it!

  16. Philippa says:

    Try Tapatalk, it works great for forums so should work okay for blogs

  17. Philippa says:

    @Owen ~ I rarely ever use IE and only to check sites my husband designs. It’s not the best browser to use, sites and blogs look better on Firefox which is what I use,

Leave a Reply

