Coming Back to My Faith

Coming Back to My Faith

As a child to Sunday school I went,
Learning about Jesus and his miracles,
Believing in my sweet Jesus as I grew,
Growing up into a teenager still believing.

At nineteen I became bitter and angry,
Turned my back on the one true Lord,
How could He do this with my life?
Hurting inside not knowing who to trust.

Twenty three years went by and I pretended,
That I was happy with my lot yet hiding,
Inside I was crying angry with my life,
One innocent day changed my life again.

I found someone special lost for years,
Yet to return to my faith and my God,
The months went by messages I got,
I felt different but not sure why.

Then one Sunday it came to me,
A message had been received from a friend,
A message from, she was inspired,
I cried and sent a message back to her.

Slowly I opened my heart to my precious Lord,
Scared and frightened wanting to be forgiven,
I love my Lord with all my heart,
Knowing He loves me despite all my sin.

Philippa Hope-Hornsey

About Philippa

I am married to Rick and we live in a small town in County Durham. We have two dogs, a cat and two budgies. I am also an adoption survivor. In 1981 my son was born and I was then forced to surrender him. It took 23 years and reunion for my to find out that my son's adoption was legally known as a forced adoption and illegal but social workers got away with it because mothers didn't know their rights.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

