Issues

7th May 2005

Second time of trying due to technical glitches again. Both Rick and have been feeling rough this week as our colds turned into flu.

S till haven’t got a copy of the relinquishment paper and Anne from Empty Arms is having the same problem. She has suggested to me holding off getting a solicitor as she has got herself one due to the social workers she has been dealing with being unhelpful. If she has some joy with the solicitor she will pass on her name to me. I have updated Anthony that I have emailed my contact at the ARC again but will hold of getting a solicitor until I know how Anne gets on.

Had a lovely e-card from another mum today as well as an email so sent her a ‘thank you’ e-card back.  Will probably email her back tomorrow.  She is another one who was treated badly by her family particularly her mother for getting pregnant. It is dreadful to know there are so many of us who have had issues with our mothers during the process of being pregnant and relinquishing which are still going on.  I wish I could end them with my mum but she can’t seem to let go.

*Anne became a good friend.  She had been in reunion for a similar amount of time as I had been.  Her story was a bit different to mine and had parented her son for the first five months of his life.  Like me she was pressured into surrendering by her parents.

About Philippa

I am married to Rick and we live in a small town in County Durham. We have two dogs, a cat and two budgies. I am also an adoption survivor. In 1981 my son was born and I was then forced to surrender him. It took 23 years and reunion for my to find out that my son's adoption was legally known as a forced adoption and illegal but social workers got away with it because mothers didn't know their rights.
This entry was posted in Adoption and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

