Struggling

31st August 2005

Struggling still with how I feel about Anthony putting his dad’s name on the family tree and I am confused as to why I feel like this. Up until now I felt he should do this but now he has I feel weird about it. I am having a bit of “time out” with Empty Arms although Joan doesn’t want me to rush into leaving the group just yet. She and the others want me to work through why I am emotionally wrecked at the moment but I can’t just yet. I am frightened of completely losing it emotionally and I don’t want to have to deal with that right now or even ever. It’s not just the ‘not talking’ about Anthony for 23 years it’s also about having to deal with how I feel about my dysfunctional family. Since I was 12 years old they have really getting to me over their attitude towards me and expecting me to keep their secrets yet expecting me to be completely honest with them. I have had to deal with them having a low opinion of me, thinking I’m a waste of space, that I’m worthless and a liar. It infuriates me as my sister is the liar yet she has always got away with it and my parents won’t have it that she lies. I think they are just sad people at times that they can’t accept reality over certain issues.

About Philippa

I am married to Rick and we live in a small town in County Durham. We have two dogs, a cat and two budgies. I am also an adoption survivor. In 1981 my son was born and I was then forced to surrender him. It took 23 years and reunion for my to find out that my son's adoption was legally known as a forced adoption and illegal but social workers got away with it because mothers didn't know their rights.
This entry was posted in Adoption and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

