Christmas

26th December 2010

Another year is almost over and it is ending on a good note for us.  The week leading up to Christmas Day was hectic for both of us.  I helped Rick out by getting leaflets delivered, picking up two external hard drives and getting the turkey we had ordered.  The hard drives were for two people on the residents’ association committee.

On Thursday morning there was the Christmas carol concert in St Mary’s community hall which went well.  Considering the weather was bad it was good to see people turn up for it.  I had the easy job of dealing with the laptop and overhead.  My favourite parts were watching The Legionnaires then when Rick did the quiz for them.  It was good to see the children enjoy themselves.

On Friday we spent the best part of the day at Asda.  Rick was playing the trumpet with the Salvation Army Band and for a little while I was collecting money.  By the time we got home we were exhausted as we have gone three weeks of early mornings, long days and late nights.

Yesterday was a lazy day although we did manage to get to church in the morning.  We hadn’t realized St Mary’s is a catholic church but I am glad we went.  For the first time in years Christmas Eve and Day felt like they should which for me is the true meaning of Christmas which is the birth of Jesus.  We have had quiet Christmas for years but this is the first one I have really enjoyed apart from when Anthony was living with us.  Those three were special as I never thought I would never see the day he would be living with us let alone spending any time together.

Today we were back at church again at the Salvation Army.  We had a look round Asda afterwards but there weren’t any bargains apart from fresh turkeys and I did pick one up.  The rest of the day has been quiet but I’m not complaining.

About Philippa

I am married to Rick and we live in a small town in County Durham. We have two dogs, a cat and two budgies. I am also an adoption survivor. In 1981 my son was born and I was then forced to surrender him. It took 23 years and reunion for my to find out that my son's adoption was legally known as a forced adoption and illegal but social workers got away with it because mothers didn't know their rights.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

