Minor miracles

7th November 2010

The minor miracles have been Chyna behaving herself on the lead with me holding on to it.  Up until recently she has worn a halti to make it easier to walk her.  It broke so Chyna has got back to pulling so badly that I couldn’t handle her.  Today I give it a try and she has been good for her.  A few times I’ve had to pull back on the lead but most of the time Chyna was good.  How long it will last is a different matter.

I survived another birthday which I hate.  Mother’s Day, Christmas Day, Anthony’s birthday and mine are the anniversaries I wish I could sleep through but can’t so grin and bear them.  Fortunately I had distractions online which helped get me through.  The weekend has gone quite quickly but I am happier.  The lead up to my birthday I tend to get depressed which is made worse by National Adoption Week.  I know why it happens but wish it could be dealt with more sensitively.  Knowing that there is a dark side to adoption makes me even more frustrated.  During the week there is so much publicity about how wonderful adoption is and how wonderful reunion is.  Life isn’t like that all the time.  People are only human and have their bad days and children are no different.  I would rather see more on people being educated on the realities of adoption so that those who do adopt are better prepared.  Whether that will ever happen is a different but I live in hope and I do know there are decent social workers who do their best.

About Philippa

I am married to Rick and we live in a small town in County Durham. We have two dogs, a cat and two budgies. I am also an adoption survivor. In 1981 my son was born and I was then forced to surrender him. It took 23 years and reunion for my to find out that my son's adoption was legally known as a forced adoption and illegal but social workers got away with it because mothers didn't know their rights.
This entry was posted in Adoption. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

