Busy week

16th January 2011

Time is flying away and I have felt exhausted this weekend. Monday and Tuesday wasn’t too bad but from Wednesday it felt like we didn’t stop. On Tuesday we were at the captains house as we are part of the Salvation Army now so will be having weekly meetings with them for about 11 weeks.

Rick had to get a newsletter sorted out, printed off and delivered for the residents association so I have been helping him with that since Wednesday. We got about 100 out on Wednesday or Thursday daytime. Thursday evening I went over to the community hall to help out a bit with the youth cafe then ended up folding more newsletters to be delivered on Friday. Some were given one of the committee members for her to deliver in her street. That morning I had also been at the Job Centre to get the Disability Work Advisor to check over a form for Rick. His application for Working Tax Credit had been rejected on the grounds he isn’t entitled. Rick is so I had filled out another form and the Advisor had been in touch Office about so the next form should be fast tracked. Friday morning the last lot were printed off and we got them all delivered off in two sessions, one in the morning, the rest in the evening. We both paid for this in the evening and yesterday as our backs were aching. It wasn’t so much the carrying as it being hilly and having to climb up and steps to houses and bungalows. We also had a maths lesson in between time so at least we were able to sit for a while.

This coming week is going to be busy for me. Tomorrow I am going up to the Help the Aged to have a chat about volunteering for their companion scheme. Tuesday is our weekly meeting with the Salvation Army captains. Wednesday I have a nurse’s appointment. Thursday I’m at Acumen to discuss what I have been doing over volunteering and job searching. Friday I have a four hour maths level, Rick two hours as I’m doing a higher level of maths than him. I’m also expecting to help Rick out at some point with work for the residents association again.

Village life certainly isn’t dull.

About Philippa

I am married to Rick and we live in a small town in County Durham. We have two dogs, a cat and two budgies. I am also an adoption survivor. In 1981 my son was born and I was then forced to surrender him. It took 23 years and reunion for my to find out that my son's adoption was legally known as a forced adoption and illegal but social workers got away with it because mothers didn't know their rights.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

