Good start to the New Year

1st January 2011

Today has been a nice, quiet start to the  new year.  We were both awake long enough to see the new year in and were surprised how quiet it was at midnight.  This is village life though and I remember how quiet it was in Duffryn Rhonda on New Year’s Eve which was a tiny village so little wonder.

We both woke up late for us at 9.30 am, did some tidying up then took the dogs for a long walk.  Apart from that we have had a lazy day.  It has suited me down to the ground as we were so busy before Christmas.

I am looking forward to the New Year as I finally feel I can let go of the past and move on.  I can’t change my past, I change family members attitudes towards me but I can let go of the sadness, pain and the hurt that I have carried around with me because of them.  Surrendering Anthony is the one pain that will always stay with me but it’s one that I can finally live with.  I know he is okay and that is enough for me know.  The only person who can make Anthony happy is himself, nobody else can.

I have plenty to look forward to such as enjoying my life and having a good husband.  Rick is happy because he is working and doing what he enjoys which is web design.  We have a roof over our heads, our bills get paid, food in the cupboards, our pets and live in an area we love.  Most importantly we have each other and are happy.

About Philippa

I am married to Rick and we live in a small town in County Durham. We have two dogs, a cat and two budgies. I am also an adoption survivor. In 1981 my son was born and I was then forced to surrender him. It took 23 years and reunion for my to find out that my son's adoption was legally known as a forced adoption and illegal but social workers got away with it because mothers didn't know their rights.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

