Long Day

8th January2011

Another has gone by and we are getting back to busy again.  On Wednesday I was back to the nurse for a weigh in.  The good news was that I hadn’t put anything on so it was a relief and I wasn’t disappointed that I hadn’t lost any weight.  I’m back to the diet again which has been easy to do.  On Thursday I had an appointment with Abby who works for East Durham Volunteer Centre.  She suggested Help the Aged as they have a companion/buddy scheme where volunteers visit the elderly in their homes in particular the ones who are isolated and mildly depressed.  Since then an appointment has been made with Help the Aged for Monday the 17th and Rick’s going with me as he is interested in doing some voluntary work in his spare time.

Yesterday I was at Acumen twice.  The first time was just for a chat to see what I’ve been doing over the past two weeks and to see what was happening over voluntary work.  In the afternoon Rick had his first session brushing up on his Maths so I was asked if I would like to do it as well.  As it won’t kill me I agreed to it and actually enjoyed myself.  I do have a GCE in Maths but got that when I was 16.  My result was good on the Maths test so will be doing NVQ Level 2 so I am more than happy to do that.  It’s getting my brain working again and I like doing anything that requires logic to work out the answer.  Rick was making me laugh as he has a weird way of working out problems so Julie has got her work cut out to get him to show how he works things out on paper.  Julie told me my result was good on the English test as well but we are concentrating on the Maths first so Rick and I can go at the same speed.

It seemed a long day though yesterday as Mike came back from work with Rick so we didn’t have much time to relax before going to Acumen.  We did our shopping afterwards then came home to relax and to have a meal.  Mike came back round again in the evening as he has bought a domain name which is now on our server.  He and Rick were discussing what he wants on the site and for Rick to give him login details.  Rick is dealing with the design side for Mike.

This weekend we intend to relax.  This morning we did go into town but as that was by choice we enjoyed that.  The rest of the weekend I intend working on completing a website for Rick apart from walking the dogs and going to church tomorrow.

About Philippa

I am married to Rick and we live in a small town in County Durham. We have two dogs, a cat and two budgies. I am also an adoption survivor. In 1981 my son was born and I was then forced to surrender him. It took 23 years and reunion for my to find out that my son's adoption was legally known as a forced adoption and illegal but social workers got away with it because mothers didn't know their rights.
This entry was posted in Family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

