How to offend me …

23rd June 2011

… in one easy lesson!!!!!

Seriously I don’t offend easily and I am a very laid back person.  Either people like me or don’t but if I will apologise if I am in the wrong.  Today I had to suffer one of the very few that not only offends it also hurts.  We were in a neighbour’s home and she has people staying with her.  The husband has been here a few weeks already as he is doing up a house he has bought.  We have been taking it in turns to cook meals so he knows what my dogs are like.  He isn’t a ‘dog’ person or a ‘cat’ person.  We know this yet he has still spent time in our home and our neighbour owns dogs as well.

Today as I was holding his daughter who is 18 months old I mentioned that our dogs would love her.  Both dogs love children as they have spent plenty of time with children.  He responded that no offence to me but he wouldn’t trust Chyna, our Rottweiler. I clenched my teeth as she is the most gentle dog anybody could be with she has never hurt anybody least of all a child.  Now I appreciate not everybody likes dogs but he knows my dog well enough to know she is harmless.  My sister was bitten by a dog when she was young.  I was bitten by a dog about twenty years ago and was very nervous of dogs for a long time.  I do understand why some people are nervous of dogs or certain breeds.  On the other hand they should trust dog owners and dogs they know. I have absolute trust in my dogs.

Yesterday we had a completely wasted journey to Darlington.  Rick had his dentist’s appointment but they won’t deal with him because of his weight.  A referral is being made to Darlington hospital instead.

Next week Rick has appointment with the bariatric consultant surgeon. It is a group session so it will be interesting to say the least.  There are a few options on what gastric surgery will be done so we will find out what’s best for Rick then.

About Philippa

I am married to Rick and we live in a small town in County Durham. We have two dogs, a cat and two budgies. I am also an adoption survivor. In 1981 my son was born and I was then forced to surrender him. It took 23 years and reunion for my to find out that my son's adoption was legally known as a forced adoption and illegal but social workers got away with it because mothers didn't know their rights.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

