Exhausted ….

It’s been an exhausting few days.  I have started helping out with the lunch club which is every Friday where we make a three course meal for the elderly.  Even though my back suffers I enjoy helping out as the ladies are lovely and it gets me out.  Saturday was a quiet day for us.  Yesterday we were at church twice.  As it was Remembrance Sunday the church service started at 10 am and ended at 10.45 am as Churches Together came together for the occasion by the Cenotaph.

It was good to be part of it this year as the church we were going to last year didn’t want anything to do with it nor did the elders really understand the meaning of the day.  They are South African so don’t really ‘get it’ but we still felt it was a lack of respect on their part as they are in England and a country that honours Remembrance Sunday.  It was lovely though yesterday seeing so many people there that wouldn’t normally be part of a church service.  A friend who still goes to that church came along and came back for lunch then went with us for the evening meeting.  He is seriously thinking about going there more regularly.  It is completely different where we go as the church members accept us for who we are and we are already members.  They are involving us in helping out with different things as well.  Today there was a funeral so I went along to help with the buffet.  We started at 10 am, the funeral was at 1.15 pm and by the time we got away it was 4 pm.  It has been a good day though as the family appreciated everything that was done.  Quite a few people we know were also at the funeral so we were all included.

Tonight I feel so tired, stiff and my ankles are aching   Earlier I was in so much pain as I was standing for so long.   Rick’s already been on about what he wants to do tomorrow so I’ve told him I’m not rushing out early in the morning.

About Philippa

I am married to Rick and we live in a small town in County Durham. We have two dogs, a cat and two budgies. I am also an adoption survivor. In 1981 my son was born and I was then forced to surrender him. It took 23 years and reunion for my to find out that my son's adoption was legally known as a forced adoption and illegal but social workers got away with it because mothers didn't know their rights.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

