Finally warched Juno

27th September 2010

When Juno was released I vowed I wasn’t going to watch the film as it is a comedy about a 16 year old girl choosing adoption for her baby.  Last night it was on television so couldn’t resist the temptation of watching it.  I wouldn’t describe as a comedy, a drama is a better way to describe it.  It was compulsive viewing and I had to watch it all the way through despite being triggering in places.

On one hand nobody pressured Juno into surrendering but on the other hand nobody tried to talk her out of it either.  Real life isn’t like this and people will have opinions on a teenager being pregnant and her making the decision whether to abort, parent or choosing adoption.

The ending was enough to make me cry though as I do remember being in hospital having my son and knowing I was on a losing battle over wanting to raise him.  Of course my reality was having to deal with having my son and that feeling of being completely alone.  My parents never visited me and my sister visited once.  Apart from that I felt very isolated with my only other visitor being the social wrecker from the adoption agency who also only visited once.  Post reunion there have been times when I have wished I could either dance on her grave or tell her how wrong she had got it.  I have also wish at times I could scream  at her for lying to me.  It’s never going to happwn but the film reminded me of the strong feelings I had towards the woman.

About Philippa

I am married to Rick and we live in a small town in County Durham. We have two dogs, a cat and two budgies. I am also an adoption survivor. In 1981 my son was born and I was then forced to surrender him. It took 23 years and reunion for my to find out that my son's adoption was legally known as a forced adoption and illegal but social workers got away with it because mothers didn't know their rights.
This entry was posted in Adoption and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment